Thinkin’ like a PR Pro

With the internship in full swing and lots of free time spent on the internet, I’ve found myself more and more often thinking like a PR pro. I’ve been doing my internship for 4 weeks now and with one week to go, I’m really loving every minute of it. I’m going to do a full recap of my time with Friends of High School Park but I figured it makes more sense to wait until next week when I’m officially finished (in case anything life-changing happens in my last week!).

I don’t know if it’s because I have too much time on my hands or because I’m actually starting to get a grip on PR, but it seems to be on my mind almost constantly lately. A few things have occurred over the past couple of weeks that have triggered my mind and caused constant PR on the brain. Let me break it down for you.

First of all, my internship has been SO beneficial to my understanding and experience in PR and communications in general. I’ve grown really passionate about the organization and I genuinely want to help them and promote their efforts. I find myself brainstorming ways I can get the word out; how I can reach out to our community; how I can appeal to all audiences. I have been wanting to go out of my way to help and I think that goes to show that I found the right future in PR.

My most recent project with my internship; any locals be sure to check out the event! ;)
My most recent project with my internship; any locals be sure to check out the event! 😉

Secondly, I had a realization when it comes to Twitter. Although I am on Twitter, I have to admit that I’m not very active on it and if I do tweet, most times it’s not of much value. One of my goals is to increase the importance of my tweets and not use it only as a fun form of social media. But that’s beside the point. Perhaps this realization is a bit delayed and I haven’t been paying enough attention to the way companies use Twitter, but I have to give kudos to a certain brand. And that kudos goes to Chobani.

Dying to try the apple cinnamon!

source

I’d never been a fan of Chobani (I hated the smell!) and always made fun of my friend who brought it to work everyday over the summer. But a few days ago, I decided to finally give Chobani a chance. When I found that I loved it (so great, if you haven’t given it a chance you really should) I tweeted at my friend to let her know I was wrong in poking fun at her. At the time, I didn’t even realize that Chobani had a Twitter so I didn’t mention them. However, MINUTES after my tweet, Chobani tweeted back at me! I was shocked. So I looked at their feed to find they were constantly tweeting at their fans, whether they were mentioned or not, and even offering disappointed customers with an email address to get free Chobani sent to them. It made me have a whole new respect for the company that shows they really care about their users. If that’s not good PR, I don’t know what is!

Kudos to you, Chobani!

Finally (bear with me, I know this is getting lengthy), I felt like a PR pro and a bit of a loser for sure when a girl in my sorority told us about her boyfriend’s new business. It’s called Wink Frozen Desserts and it’s a low calorie, vegan, sugar free, dairy free, allergen free, gluten free ice cream! With my new attempts at healthy living, I was instantly intrigued. However, my immediate thought was how, if this were my company, I would go about getting the word out. Am I officially a PR nerd? My mind ran to the healthy living blogs I read and how they would be a great source to reach out to thousands interested in healthy living and delicious ice cream. Finally, I snapped myself out of my PR coma and drooled over the delicious flavors available.

All in all, I’m excited to be making PR part of my daily life. It’s starting to come naturally and I believe that’s a good sign for my future career.

Are you thinking like a PR pro?

2 thoughts on “Thinkin’ like a PR Pro

  1. Hey, Jamie! We’re excited you’re making PR a part of your daily life, too. You’ve got a bright future ahead, very impressive! Thanks for tweeting with us, we absolutely LOVE to hear from fans like you. Please send me an email so we can send you a special thanks 🙂 Cheers!

  2. Great post, Jamie! I love your insight, and it’s so exciting to see you growing in consciousness of the way PR affects (or can affect) nearly every aspect of the world around us. Looking forward to hearing more about your internship!

Leave a Reply

