#MakeKonyFamous

A few days ago, as I was walking back from classes, I went to open the door to my building when I noticed something. To get into the building, I have a little grey fob that I place against a big white square that senses my fob and unlocks the door. But on this day, the big white square didn’t just say, “Christiana East Tower.” It also had a little red sticker. I quickly scanned the sticker but didn’t pay much attention to it. It looked like some sort of presidential campaign sticker but I knew I didn’t recognize the name “Kony” so I idly passed it by. But last night when my twitter and facebook feed exploded with #kony2012 #makekonyfamous #stopkony, I knew it was time to further explore this topic.

I found the link to a certain video and began watching. I noticed it was 29 minutes long and was a little stunned and planned on watching the first few minutes to catch the idea and then getting back to my homework. However, as the video started, I was enthralled. If you haven’t yet seen the video, PLEASE watch it. I’ll make it easy for you by putting it right here:

The video is not only so touching and about such an important topic, but it’s also so brilliantly made. While they could have just stated the facts, told a story and said stop Kony, they turned it into a giant campaign; one that grasps the audience’s attention. A simple video telling the sad story of Jacob would’ve inspired viewers and earned some donations, but they took this to a new level.

When you think about fame you think about Angelina Jolie, Lady Gaga, and other stars of the like. Sure a few dictators and rulers have made the news, but not in the way that these celebrities have. The Kony 2012 campaign has the idea of not just capturing Kony, but making him famous. Spreading awareness of his existence because like me before yesterday, many have no idea of his role in the world. The video challenges people across the world to make Kony as famous as George Clooney, Justin Bieber and Snooki by “covering the night.” It tells people to make a donation and get the action kit to start spreading the word and advocating the fame of Kony. They’re also getting the help of celebrities and politicians to give Kony the fame that they enjoy on a daily basis. The campaign ends on December 31, 2012 in the hopes that by then, Kony will be captured. But the only way to do that is overwhelm the world with images of the campaign, posters everywhere, and make it everywhere you turn. It advocates the idea of social media as a tool to spread the word and it’s so amazing to think about how the internet has evolved to a means to persuade and stop a criminal. But the ultimate test is on April 20, 2012 when we will cover the night. When people wake up on the morning of April 20th, if they haven’t yet heard of Kony, they will now be aware.

I just thought the video was so inspiring and such a brilliant PR effort to spread the word. So often you hear of campaigns to raise awareness of heroes, great events, happy stories but it seems like a rare occurrence to hear of such a massive campaign to stop a murderer. My words can’t accurately describe the power of this video so I ask you to watch it. I hope this video inspires you as much as it did me and I’m looking forward to doing my part to #MakeKonyFamous.

Leave a Reply

