So long sweet summer…

Tomorrow officially marks the end of summer and the beginning of a new and exciting semester. The summer was a great, relaxing break from reality spent working an easy job, hanging out with friends, and enjoying family time. But now it’s time to get back into the grind of the semester and it’s promising to be a crazy one. I’ve got a lot on my plate but I’m ready for the challenge and excited to further explore PR.

Fortunately, this semester will be one filled with lots of public relations. I’ll be taking a ‘Public Relations Writing’ course as well as other Communication classes like Intro to Marketing and Intro to Journalism that I feel will hone my skills and help me develop more of a PR mind.

Image
Fall 2012 Schedule

In addition, I will serve as the Program Director for the Public Relations Student Society of America here at the University of Delaware. As Program Director, it will be my responsibility to plan educational programs such as networking events and profession-oriented field trips. I’ll also work closely with the rest of the executive board to carry out ideas and plans to benefit our chapter and its members.

Image
PRSSA Exec. Board 2012-2013

And last but not least, I will be a Social Media Leader for the University of Delaware. As the Social Media Leader, I will serve specifically as the Marketing Leader and will assist with social media efforts via the @BlueHenSays twitter and Facebook accounts. This is the most recent responsibility I’ve taken on and my tasks are still undetermined but I’m thrilled about the experience I’ll have and the opportunity to learn more about social media.

Image
#UDel

 All in all, I think this semester should turn out to be an interesting one. I’m anticipating a busy schedule, lots of stress but lots of fun and excitement.  I’m ready to jump back into the swing of things and kick off my junior year!

Leave a Reply

