Look who’s back

I’ve returned

After a long hiatus from the old blog, I’m ready to come back. With the stress of the semester, it gets so easy to just eliminate “write blog post” from the to-do list, however I really want to start to make blogging a priority. I’m also hoping to give the blog a bit of a face-lift so stay tuned!

So why don’t we start off where I left off back in August. Let me update you on my semester so far…

PRSSA

Since May 2012, I’ve been serving as the program director for the Public Relation Student Society of America at UD. Now that the semester is in full swing, I’ve gotten to work on some of responsibilities. First, I’ve been contacting local professionals working in public relations, communications and related fields to speak at our annual “Night With the Pros” event. A panel of professionals will discuss their experience in the field and pass along valuable knowledge to our members. If you or anyone you know would be interested in speaking at this event, please feel free to contact me. 

In addition, I’ve been planning our fall field trip. We will be taking a trip to Philadelphia to tour Vault Communications and 6abc Action News studios. Vault has a long list of incredible clients so I’m really looking forward to hearing about the daily activities there and getting a look at their “digs.” I’m also a huge fan of 6abc and a loyal viewer so I’m super excited to tour the studio where some of my favorite reporters work and we’ll even get to see a live taping of the 4 p.m. news!

Social Media/Marketing Leader

Back in August, I announced one of my most recent positions as a social media/marketing leader for the University of Delaware. At the time I was still uncertain of my responsibilities but it has proven to be an extremely valuable experience. First, they gave all of the social media leaders (SMLs) and social media ambassadors (SMAs) “Blue Hen” Twitter accounts to engage with the student body about on-campus activities, classes and simply about life as a college student. You can follow me @BlueHenJamie and learn more about the Blue Hen Twitter accounts in the article I wrote for UDaily.

 Image

That’s another great thing about this position. I will be writing weekly articles to be published on UDaily, the University of Delaware’s on-line news service to promote the SMA program and the activities we do to enhance the university’s social media presence. I’m always grateful for any opportunity to practice my writing because as I’ve heard too many times to count, “writing is key,” “if you can write, you can do anything,” “if you want to work in PR, you better be able to write,” et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

And lastly, I will eventually develop a comprehensive marketing plan for the SMA program to set goals and create strategies to accomplish those goals. This is something I’ve never done before so it will definitely be a great learning experience!

Classes

While most employers cite out-of-the-class experiences as the most valuable, my in-class experiences have certainly been enhancing my overall knowledge of communication and PR. In my PR writing class, we’ve learned about a variety of different writing practices used in PR including news releases, PSAs, newsletters, e-blasts and more (look out for those in my online portfolio soon!). Intro to Journalism has helped me to explore all the areas of journalism and our in-class speakers including TV journalists and politicians have passed along valuable advice. And lastly, in my Intro to Marketing course, we’ve looked at different businesses, their marketing plans and what works and what doesn’t in getting a message across to a target market

Overall, this semester is proving to be one full of incredible learning opportunities and I’m looking forward to growing as a young professional! 

And lastly, I must give a shout-out to my incredible sister over at JessicaLawlor.com. She never ceases to inspire and amaze me but with the makeover of her website and her plans to #GetGutsy, I found the motivation to get blogging again!

 

Stay tuned for more 🙂

Leave a Reply

